International Institute for Innovative Instruction

About Us

Franklin University's International institute of Innovative Instruction unites the university's curriculum design capabilities with teaching and learning assessment, in order to develop and deliver educational solutions that work.

The Institute's doctorally qualified instructional design faculty members are experts in their field. They seek to advance instructional design across cultures, continents and contexts, to solve complex problems in education while also developing educators and learners. They are instructional design champions who transform learners through systemically developed, sophisticated, pedagogical methodologies, teaching excellence and advanced assessment.

Mission

The International Institute for Innovative Instruction is home to Franklin’s highly experienced and award-winning credentialed design professionals who employ innovative design as global leaders in the development of interactive and engaging learning-centered experiences for diverse learner populations and disciplines around the world, engage in collaborations that assure academic quality and instructional innovation, advance the practice and scholarship of instructional design, teaching excellence, and learning assessment, and support educators and thought leaders in adapting to the needs of changing society.

Vision

We aspire to be global thought leaders in instructional design, teaching excellence and learning assessment, while empowering educators, leaders and organizations around the world to anticipate and respond to emerging needs in higher education.

Kody Kuehnl, PhD

Department Chair

I am currently a faculty member in the College of Arts, Sciences, and Technology and the Chair of the Department of Science, Technology, and Mathematics at Franklin University. I teach a variety of general education science courses at Franklin University. I received my PhD from the Department of Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology at The Ohio State University with an emphasis in molecular systematics , phylogeography, and conservation biology. Prior to joining Franklin University, I taught and developed a variety of science courses at several central Ohio universities and colleges with programs focused at both majors and non-majors. These courses include introductory biology, animal diversity, human biology, human anatomy and physiology, microbiology, chemistry, natural science, environmental science, science and society, ecology, evolution, and several organismal-based courses.

Featured Faculty

Tom Atkinson, Ph.D.
tom.atkinson@franklin.edu
Lavondia Alexander
(301) 575-4384  |  lavondia.alexander@franklin.edu
Matt Barclay, PhD
Faculty
(614) 947-6172  |  matthew.barclay@franklin.edu
Eric Zhang
Adjunct Faculty Accounting
eric.zhang@franklin.edu
Lewis Chongwony, PhD
Faculty
lewis.chongwony@franklin.edu
Daniel Bell, Ph.D.
Program Chair
(614) 947-6117  |  daniel.bell@franklin.edu
Barbara Fennema
Faculty
(614) 947-6125  |  barbara.fennema@franklin.edu
Bruce Campbell, Ph.D., CTP
Program Chair, MBA & Finance
(614) 947-6212  |  bruce.campbell@franklin.edu
Joel Gardner, Ph.D.
Department Chair and Instructional Designer
(614) 947-6101  |  joel.gardner@franklin.edu
Chunbo Chu, Ph.D.
Program Chair
(614) 947-6192  |  chunbo.chu@franklin.edu
Paul Henry , Ph.D.
paul.henry@franklin.edu
Tanesha Morgan, Ph.D.
Adjunct Faculty Masters of Public Administration
morgant@franklin.edu
Natalya Koehler
Faculty
(614) 947-6868  |  natalya.koehler@franklin.edu
Bill Hochstettler III, Ph.D.
Program Chair, Adjunct Faculty MSCS
william.hochstettler@franklin.edu
Jessie Kong
Faculty
jessie.kong@franklin.edu
Jeff Krantz
Adjunct Faculty Healthcare Management
jeffrey.krantz@franklin.edu
Christopher Mangan, Ed.D.
(610) 597-5830  |  christopher.mangan@franklin.edu
Kody Kuehnl, PhD
Department Chair
(614) 947-6104  |  kody.kuehnl@franklin.edu
Karen Miner-Romanoff, Ph.D.
Associate Provost, Academic Quality + Co-Education, I4
(614) 947-6241  |  karen.miner-romanoff@franklin.edu
Bette Madson Ph.D.
Adjunct Faculty Professional Foundations
elizabeth.madson@franklin.edu
David Ni
Faculty
(614) 947-6230  |  xiaopeng.ni@franklin.edu
Sonja Simpson
Adjunct Faculty Social + Natural Sciences
sonja.simpson@franklin.edu
Angela Smith
Adjunct Faculty
angela.smith@franklin.edu
Jane Sieberth
Adjunct Faculty Mathematics
jane.sieberth@franklin.edu
Yuerong Sweetland
Director of Assessment
yuerong.sweetland@franklin.edu
Jody Tate
Adjunct Faculty Mathematics
jody.tate@franklin.edu
Sharon Taylor, PhD
Adjunct Faculty Instructional Design and Performance Technology, Adjunct Faculty Business Administration
sharon.taylor@franklin.edu
Suzan Waller, PhD
(614) 947-6157  |  suzan.waller@franklin.edu
Fawn Winterwood, PhD
Director of Teaching Effectiveness
(614) 947-6235  |  fawn.winterwood@franklin.edu
Rob Wood Jr., Ed.D.
Program Chair and Faculty
(614) 947-6158  |  rob.wood@franklin.edu
Todd Whittaker, M.S.
Program Chair
todd.whittaker@franklin.edu

Join our Learning
Community

Learn More

Find the Right Learning Solution
for Your Organization

Learn More