International Institute for Innovative Instruction

About Us

Franklin University's International institute of Innovative Instruction unites the university's curriculum design capabilities with teaching and learning assessment, in order to develop and deliver educational solutions that work.

The Institute's doctorally qualified instructional design faculty members are experts in their field. They seek to advance instructional design across cultures, continents and contexts, to solve complex problems in education while also developing educators and learners. They are instructional design champions who transform learners through systemically developed, sophisticated, pedagogical methodologies, teaching excellence and advanced assessment.

Mission

The International Institute for Innovative Instruction is home to Franklin’s highly experienced and award-winning credentialed design professionals who employ innovative design as global leaders in the development of interactive and engaging learning-centered experiences for diverse learner populations and disciplines around the world, engage in collaborations that assure academic quality and instructional innovation, advance the practice and scholarship of instructional design, teaching excellence, and learning assessment, and support educators and thought leaders in adapting to the needs of changing society.

Vision

We aspire to be global thought leaders in instructional design, teaching excellence and learning assessment, while empowering educators, leaders and organizations around the world to anticipate and respond to emerging needs in higher education.

Karen Miner-Romanoff, Ph.D., JD

Associate Provost for Academic Quality
Co-Executive Director of i4

Karen Miner-Romanoff is Associate Provost for Academic Quality and Executive Director of the International Institute for Innovative Instruction at Franklin University. She holds a Ph.D. in Public Policy and Administration, with an emphasis in criminology, and a Master’s in Public Policy and Administration. An attorney as well, she obtained her Juris Doctorate, with clerkships in the U.S. District Court and U.S. Court of Appeals, worked with a major law firm, and held a position as Special Assistant to the Ohio Attorney General Chief of Staff and Chief Counsel. At Franklin University, Dr. Miner-Romanoff previously served as the Dean of the College of Health and Public Administration and Criminal Justice Program Chair. During that time, her program received Outstanding Design Awards for both the program, innovative Capstone, and 15-part criminal justice virtual case study. She recently returned from a Fulbright Scholar trip to South Africa working with the Human Science Research Council on several educational and criminological research initiatives. She received her certification to be an Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences peer reviewer for program certification, is a Fulbright Scholar peer reviewer, and is Executive Counselor of the new Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences section for teaching and education. She recently received the 2015 Academy of Criminal Justice Science Outstanding Mentor Award and was selected to serve on the ACE Women’s Network Executive Board. She sits on several educational advisory boards and criminal justice commissions, including the Ohio Consortium of Crime Science and the Franklin County Specialty Courts. Her predominant research interests are data-informed curricular design and teaching strategies, juvenile transfer to adult court, deterrence as crime control, problem-solving courts and criminal justice teaching effectiveness. Dr. Miner-Romanoff has presented papers at the International Conference of Social Science Research, the American Society of Criminology Conference, the Midwestern Criminal Justice Association, the American Bar Association Criminal Justice Conference, International Conference on Justice, Police and Law, and for five years at the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences annual meeting. Her publications include articles in her major research interests and university and teaching pedagogy in The Qualitative Report, Justice Policy Journal, The Criminologists, The American Journal of Criminal Justice, International Journal of Restorative Justice, The World Academy of Science, and the Journal of Criminal Justice Education. She sits on several educational and criminal justice peer-review, editorial, and advisory boards.

Featured Faculty

Matt Barclay, PhD
Faculty
(614) 947-6172  |  matthew.barclay@franklin.edu
Michael Allbritain, Esq.
(614) 832-5383  |  michael.allbritain@franklin.edu
Lewis Chongwony, PhD
Faculty
lewis.chongwony@franklin.edu
Amy Banta, PhD
amy.banta@franklin.edu
Barbara Fennema
Faculty
(614) 947-6125  |  barbara.fennema@franklin.edu
Harold Bashor, PhD
Adjunct Faculty MBA, Adjunct Faculty Humanities
harold.bashor@franklin.edu
Joel Gardner, Ph.D.
Department Chair and Instructional Designer
(614) 947-6101  |  joel.gardner@franklin.edu
Derek Beaty, D.B.A.
Adjunct Faculty Ops + Supply Chain Mgmt
derek.beaty@franklin.edu
Natalya Koehler, Ph.D.
Faculty
(614) 947-6868  |  natalya.koehler@franklin.edu
Dan Diagostino
Adjunct Faculty Finance, Adjunct Faculty Economics
daniel.diagostino@franklin.edu
Dean Blackstone
Adjunct Faculty MBA
dean.blackstone@franklin.edu
Jessie Kong, Ph.D.
Faculty
jessie.kong@franklin.edu
Karen Miner-Romanoff, Ph.D., JD
Associate Provost for Academic Quality, Co-Executive Director of i4
(614) 947-6241  |  karen.miner-romanoff@franklin.edu
Andy Bouchane
Adjunct Faculty MBA
(614) 633-8954  |  william.bouchane@franklin.edu
David Ni
Faculty
(614) 947-6230  |  xiaopeng.ni@franklin.edu
Martha Crone
Adjunct Faculty Writing, Adjunct Faculty Humanities
martha.crone@franklin.edu
George Caleodis
Adjunct Faculty Mathematics
george.caleodis@franklin.edu
Yuerong Sweetland, Ph.D.
Director of Teaching & Learning Assessment, Director of Assessment
yuerong.sweetland@franklin.edu
Shelley Casbarro
Adjunct Faculty Applied Psychology
shelley.casbarro@franklin.edu
Rob Wood Jr., Ed.D.
Program Chair and Faculty
(614) 947-6158  |  rob.wood@franklin.edu
Yi Yang
Department Chair & Instructional Designer & Chair, DPS
(614) 947-6171  |  yi.yang@franklin.edu
Vanessa Chappelear
Adjunct Faculty
vanessa.chappelear@franklin.edu

Join our Learning
Community

Learn More

Find the Right Learning Solution
for Your Organization

Learn More