International Institute for Innovative Instruction

About Us

Franklin University's International institute of Innovative Instruction unites the university's curriculum design capabilities with teaching and learning assessment, in order to develop and deliver educational solutions that work.

The Institute's doctorally qualified instructional design faculty members are experts in their field. They seek to advance instructional design across cultures, continents and contexts, to solve complex problems in education while also developing educators and learners. They are instructional design champions who transform learners through systemically developed, sophisticated, pedagogical methodologies, teaching excellence and advanced assessment.

Mission

The International Institute for Innovative Instruction is home to Franklin’s highly experienced and award-winning credentialed design professionals who employ innovative design as global leaders in the development of interactive and engaging learning-centered experiences for diverse learner populations and disciplines around the world, engage in collaborations that assure academic quality and instructional innovation, advance the practice and scholarship of instructional design, teaching excellence, and learning assessment, and support educators and thought leaders in adapting to the needs of changing society.

Vision

We aspire to be global thought leaders in instructional design, teaching excellence and learning assessment, while empowering educators, leaders and organizations around the world to anticipate and respond to emerging needs in higher education.

Martina Peng, MBA, Ph.D.

Department Chair

Dr. Martina Peng serves as the Department Chair of the Accounting, Finance and Economics in the College of Business. Martina earned a Master of Business Administration from the State University of New York at Buffalo and a Ph.D. in Consumer Finance from the Ohio State University.

Martina’s research interest focuses on individual and household financial decision-making, financial behavior analysis, and financial education policy. Martina serves as the program director on the Financial Planning Association Central Ohio Chapter (FPA), a member and education liaison of the National Association of Personal Financial Advisors (NAPFA), and a member of the Society of Financial Service Professionals (FSP).

Featured Faculty

Tom Atkinson, Ph.D.
tom.atkinson@franklin.edu
Matt Barclay, PhD
Faculty
(614) 947-6172  |  matthew.barclay@franklin.edu
Gail Baumlein, Ph.D., MSN, RN, CNS, CNE, ANEF
Program Chair
gail.baumlein@franklin.edu
Lewis Chongwony, PhD
Faculty
lewis.chongwony@franklin.edu
Chunbo Chu, Ph.D.
Program Chair
(614) 947-6192  |  chunbo.chu@franklin.edu
Ray Forbes Jr., Ph.D.
Program Chair
(614) 947-6144  |  ray.forbes@franklin.edu
Barbara Fennema
Faculty
(614) 947-6125  |  barbara.fennema@franklin.edu
Joel Gardner, Ph.D.
Department Chair and Instructional Designer
(614) 947-6101  |  joel.gardner@franklin.edu
Brian Gregory, Ph.D.
Program Chair Logistics Management
(614) 947-6156  |  brian.gregory@franklin.edu
Paul Henry , Ph.D.
paul.henry@franklin.edu
Natalya Koehler
Faculty
(614) 947-6868  |  natalya.koehler@franklin.edu
Christi Cabungcal
Chief of Staff + SVP, Administration
christi.cabungcal@franklin.edu
Jessie Kong
Faculty
jessie.kong@franklin.edu
Kody Kuehnl, PhD
Department Chair
(614) 947-6104  |  kody.kuehnl@franklin.edu
Christopher Mangan, Ed.D.
(610) 597-5830  |  christopher.mangan@franklin.edu
Martina Peng, MBA, Ph.D.
Department Chair
(614) 947-6174  |  martina.peng@franklin.edu
Karen Miner-Romanoff, Ph.D.
Associate Provost, Academic Quality + Co-Education, I4
(614) 947-6241  |  karen.miner-romanoff@franklin.edu
David Ni
Faculty
(614) 947-6230  |  xiaopeng.ni@franklin.edu
Kenneth Tirpack
Adjunct Faculty Economics
kenneth.tirpack@franklin.edu
David Smith
Adjunct Faculty Business Administration
david.smith@franklin.edu
Angela Smith
Adjunct Faculty
angela.smith@franklin.edu
Isidoro Talavera
Lead Faculty
(614) 947-6115  |  isidoro.talavera@franklin.edu
Yuerong Sweetland
Director of Assessment
yuerong.sweetland@franklin.edu
Jaron Terry
Adjunct Faculty
jaron.terry@franklin.edu
Sharon Taylor, PhD
Adjunct Faculty Instructional Design and Performance Technology, Adjunct Faculty Business Administration
sharon.taylor@franklin.edu
Matt Barclay, PhD
Faculty
(614) 947-6172  |  matthew.barclay@franklin.edu
Christopher Washington
Provost + Sr. VP for Academic Affairs/ Chief Academic Officer
christopher.washington@franklin.edu
Fawn Winterwood, PhD
Director of Teaching Effectiveness
(614) 947-6235  |  fawn.winterwood@franklin.edu
Ross Wirth, PhD
Adjunct Faculty
(614) 282-3945  |  ross.wirth@franklin.edu
Rob Wood Jr., Ed.D.
Program Chair and Faculty
(614) 947-6158  |  rob.wood@franklin.edu
Yi Yang
Department Chair & Instructional Designer & Chair, DPS
(614) 947-6171  |  yi.yang@franklin.edu

Join our Learning
Community

Learn More

Find the Right Learning Solution
for Your Organization

Learn More