Press Releases

2011 Summer Robert L. Bailey Award Recipients Named

For Immediate Release: September 13, 2011

Contact Sherry Mercurio, Director of Public Relations, 614.947.6581

Columbus, OH —

Franklin University, one of the leading educators of working adults in central Ohio, celebrated its 138th Commencement in a ceremony held Sunday, September 11, 2011.  Along with honoring the graduates, Franklin also recognized Robert Sievers and Roger Engle from its faculty as recipients of the distinguished Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award.

Robert Sievers is the undergraduate recipient. He began teaching the Marketing Capstone in 2003 with a goal to provide students with the information necessary to build both their skills and knowledge. He was awarded the Excellence in Mentoring Award and one of the University’s Scholarship, Teaching, Advancement, and Results (STAR) Awards for excellence in teaching. Bob has held a variety of positions in his career, including working in the NASA space program, as a Sales Manager for AT&T, and as a Director of Regional Training in the Asia Pacific market with Lucent Technologies. After earning his MCM from Franklin in 2003, Bob launched his own marketing company, Consumer Trends, which creates strategic plans for entrepreneurial businesses in the Columbus area.

From a student’s nomination:

“Professor Sievers pushed me to turn in nothing short of my best work every time. I never wanted to disappoint myself or Professor Sievers. He inspired me and I will always look back on my experience in this course as one that is ultimately going to drive me to new heights in my professional life.”

Roger W. Engle, Jr. is the graduate recipient. Roger has been an adjunct faculty member in Computer Science at Franklin University since 2002, teaching Business Communications at the undergraduate and graduate level, Project Management, and the Capstone in the M.S. in Computer Science Program. He earned his Bachelor of General Studies summa cum laude at age 46 and his MBA with distinction at age 48, both from Capital University. Over the course of his career, he served as Director of Corporate Budgets for AT&T in Ohio and earned IBM’s “Computer Man of the Year” award for his revolutionary use of its software. Roger combines his belief in lifelong learning, his professional experiences, and his sincere desire for all students to reach their dreams to create an atmosphere for learning in the classroom. Previously recognized as a STAR Award recipient, this is his first Bailey Award.

From a student’s nomination:

“At first glance (the class) appears to be just another class. This is definitely not the case and the professor incorporates his real-life experience to encourage us. This is one of the best times I have had in school.”

The Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award is determined each trimester by Franklin’s graduating class. Students select a faculty member who challenged them intellectually and guided them in finding the significance of course content as it related to them both professionally and personally. The graduate and undergraduate faculty members receiving the most nominations are identified for this honor.  Robert L. Bailey, retired CEO and Chairman of State Auto Insurance Companies, is a past Chairman of Franklin’s Board of Trustees.



About Franklin University
Founded in 1902, Franklin University is one of the leading and most experienced educators of adult students. Annually, nearly 10,000 students attend Franklin, through its Main Campus in downtown Columbus, Ohio, two central Ohio locations, in Beavercreek, at co-locations across Ohio, Indiana, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin, and online. Franklin offers more than 40 undergraduate and graduate programs (including the new applied doctorate offerings) and graduates more than 1,500 students annually. The University's MBA program is offered internationally through agreements with institutions in Europe and the Middle East. Further information regarding Franklin University can be found at

Franklin University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC), the International Assembly for Collegiate Business Education (IACBE), and the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).


earn More