Skip to main content
Press Release

2016 Innovations in Teaching & Learning Awards

Columbus, OH (June 10, 2016)

On Thursday, June 9 and Friday, June 10, Franklin University and the International Institute for Innovation Instruction hosted the Innovations in Teaching and Learning conference. The conference offered educators and education-minded innovators from universities and organizations around the world two days of presentations and conversations geared around thinking big, thinking smart, and thinking new.

The conference was organized into four tracks that encompassed the innovative and globally minded thinking the conference fostered: Challenging the Status Quo: Preparing Tomorrow’s Leaders Through Innovative Education; Emerging Technologies in Teaching, Learning, and Assessment; Assessment in Higher Education: What’s Working, What’s Not, and Why; and International Perspectives on Teaching and Learning.

As part of the conference, the International Institute of Innovative Instruction at Franklin University offered two sets of awards. Innovation Awards recognize individuals who demonstrate high quality, innovative performance in the classroom and beyond and are open to the higher education community across the nation and throughout the world. Franklin University Teaching Excellence Awards recognize outstanding teaching in Franklin University courses.

Dr. Christopher Washington, Provost & Senior V.P. of Academic Affairs provided the awards reception welcome while Dr. Fawn Winterwood, Director of Teaching Excellence provided the award introductions.

Teaching Excellence Award Recipients:

Peter Conis                       Terry Porter                
Elisha Teague                    Jeffrey Racz                
Roger Engle                      Michael Powers
Roger Kisiel                      Sherry Weisgarber     
Darrell Dantzler                 Deborah Cummings      
Dana Talbert                     Tonda Lazofson
Wadzanai Hoert                Brad Bradford           
Constance Wanstreet        Wendy Adelmann        
Douglas Ruml                    Joseph Gawronski
Dennis Trzeciak                 John Nadalin            

Innovation in Teaching Recipient: Denielle Vazquez

Innovation in Design Recipient: Matt Barclay

Innovation in Research Recipient: Natalya Koehler

Dr. Jennifer Clinton, President of Global Ties U.S. provided the keynote presentation on Friday morning, highlighting the impact that conversations like those had at the conference have far reaching impact on educational access across the globe.

About Franklin University

Accredited, nonprofit and dedicated to educating adults since 1902, Franklin provides onsite course options at over 25 Midwest locations and is an innovator in providing personalized online education. The University offers applied in-demand undergraduate, master’s and doctorate programs that enable adult learners to achieve their educational and professional goals. The University also offers several academic programs internationally, including its top-ranked MBA, through agreements with partner institutions.

Franklin University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and holds specialized accreditations for specific academic programs through the International Accreditation Council for Business Education and the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.

News Type

  • All Sections