Skip to main content
Press Release

Franklin University Announces 1902, Alumni Military & James E. Guilkey Scholarship Recipients


Sherry Mercurio
Executive Director, Office of Community Relations

Columbus, OH (November 19, 2018)

Franklin University, a leader in educating working adults, is proud to announce its newest group of 1902, Alumni Military and James E. Guiley scholarship recipients: Kacey Corbin, Shayanna Crone, Abby Crane, Erica Huehn, Vincent Sabino, Kevin Duff, Matthew Hall, Gig Houston, Andrew Jacobs, Louis Mackenzie, Matthew Melick, Esther Whitted, Stephania Woods, and Rachel Arpin.

This newest class of recipients were invited to a reception on Franklin University’s Main Campus in downtown Columbus on Thursday, Nov. 15 to meet with University leadership, donors and other scholarship recipients.

The 1902 Leadership Circle Scholarship is awarded annually for Fall term. Awarding amounts start at $4,000 to Franklin University students for Franklin graduate or undergraduate students who have made a positive impact on the economic and/or social good for their local community by displaying drive, tenacity, and an entrepreneurial spirit similar to that of the University’s namesake, Benjamin Franklin.

The Alumni Military Scholarship is awarded annually for Fall term. All undergraduate, graduate, or doctoral students at Franklin University are eligible and must submit an essay discussing how pursuing their degree helps serve our country or community in a new and meaningful way. 

In its first year, he James E. Guilkey Scholarship was awarded for the 2018 Fall term. The $5,000 scholarship is open to all graduate and doctoral students currently enrolled in Franklin University’s master or doctoral instructional design program for at least 4 credit hours. Applicants must also submit an essay discussing what they intend to research and how their research will contribute to the instructional design or learning technology field.

Congratulations to this outstanding group of scholarship recipients who represent a passion, perseverance and love for learning and using their knowledge for the better good.Franklin University extends a sincere thank you to all of our donors who, through their generous contributions, help support student success.

Photo Caption - pictured left to right: Clarke Price (Franklin Board of Trustees Vice Chair and Franklin alumnus); Rachel Arpin, (James E. Guilkey Winner); Stephania Woods (Alumni Military Scholarship Winner); Erica Huehn (1902 Scholarship Winner); Kevin Duff Family: daughter Kayla, wife Stephanie, and daughter Evelyn (Alumni Military Scholarship Winner); Vincent Sabino (1902 Scholarship Winner); Shayanna Crone (1902 Scholarship Winner); and Dr. David Decker (President, Franklin University) Not pictured: 1902 Scholarship Recipients Kacey Corbin, Abby Crane Alumni Military Scholarship Recipients Kevin Duff (represented by his family), Matthew Hall, Gig Houston, Andrew Jacobs, Louis Mackenzie, Matthew Melick, and Esther Whitted.

About Franklin University

Accredited, nonprofit and dedicated to educating adults since 1902, Franklin provides onsite course options at over 25 Midwest locations and is an innovator in providing personalized online education. The University offers applied in-demand undergraduate, master’s and doctorate programs that enable adult learners to achieve their educational and professional goals. The University also offers several academic programs internationally, including its top-ranked MBA, through agreements with partner institutions.

Franklin University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and holds specialized accreditations for specific academic programs through the International Accreditation Council for Business Education and the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.

News Type

  • Alumni
  • Students
  • University