Skip to main content
Press Release

Franklin University Board of Trustees Elects Clarke Price as its New Chairman


Sherry Mercurio
Executive Director, Office of Community Relations

Columbus, OH (January 22, 2019)

During its regularly scheduled January Annual Meeting of the Membership, Franklin University’s Board of Trustees unanimously elected Clarke Price as its new chairperson. Price replaces Bruce Hagen, who served as Board Chair for the past term.

 “I’m honored by the opportunity to serve as chair of the Franklin University Board of Trustees,” said Price. “I look forward to leading the Board’s efforts to continue and strengthen our University’s long-standing tradition of providing the educational opportunities necessary to transform our global society.”

Clarke Price - Chair
Price is a proud Franklin alumnus (B.S. in Business Administration ’69), and veteran of the U.S. Army, where he served as a Public Information Specialist. In 2012, Clarke retired as the President and CEO of the Ohio Society of CPAs (OSCPA) and now dedicates his time working with others to underscore the importance of leadership in the non-profit world. During his 40-year career with OSCPA, Clarke worked in virtually all areas of the operation, including public relations, membership, governmental relations and marketing. Before joining the Ohio Society of CPAs, Clarke was an account executive with a New Jersey-based advertising agency. He has served as chairman and on several committees within the America Society of Association Executives; was a founding member of the CEO Center; and was made an ASAE Fellow, an honor given to less than one percent of ASAE members. Price previously served as the Vice Chair of the Franklin Board of Trustees. 

Melissa Gutierrez - Vice Chair
During the January meeting, the Board also elected Melissa Gutierrez as Vice Chair. Gutierrez is Senior Vice President of Nationwide Brokerage Solutions.  She joined Nationwide in 1987. Gutierrez has held a number of positions in sales, strategy, marketing and finance across several business units including Nationwide Insurance, Nationwide Financial and Nationwide Better Health. Prior to her current position, Gutierrez was the Vice President of Nationwide Specialty Health. Gutierrez holds the chartered life underwriter (CLU) designation, a bachelor’s degree in Marketing from Franklin University and an MBA from the University of Dayton. Gutierrez serves on the Communications and Advancement Committee and the Academic/ Student Committee.

Carl Johnson - Secretary
Carl Johnson continues to serve as Secretary for the Franklin University Board of Trustees. Johnson has more than 25 years’ experience in manufacturing and supply chain management, and retired as Director of Manufacturing, North America Automotive Aftermarket for Pittsburg, Paint & Glass (PPG).  He holds a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Prairie View A&M University (TX), and serves on numerous boards, including Recreation Unlimited and the Delaware County Red Cross. Johnson serves on the Finance Committee and the Partnerships Committee. 

The Franklin Board of Trustees governs the University utilizing leadership comprised of respected business and community leaders. Members of the University’s Board apply their extensive business and professional experience to help guide the direction of the University and help it effectively adapt to anticipated changes in society and the business community. Through their leadership and industry insight, Franklin University has stayed true to its philosophy of being a pioneer in meeting the needs of adult students who have the ambition to continue their education in combination with other responsibilities by adapting to their needs and responding to changes in society, professions, and the business community.  
Other Board members include:  Bruce Hagen, Jack Cartner, Jamie Crane, Mary Duchi, Phil FankHauser, Gary Flynn, Ted Ford, Anthony Gonsalves, Gary James, Floyd Jones, Gregory Lashutka, Stan Partlow, Peter Roche, Ralph Sanese, David Stone and Carole Watkins. For more information on the Franklin University Board of Trustees:

About Franklin University

Accredited, nonprofit and dedicated to educating adults since 1902, Franklin provides onsite course options at over 25 Midwest locations and is an innovator in providing personalized online education. The University offers applied in-demand undergraduate, master’s and doctorate programs that enable adult learners to achieve their educational and professional goals. The University also offers several academic programs internationally, including its top-ranked MBA, through agreements with partner institutions.

Franklin University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and holds specialized accreditations for specific academic programs through the International Accreditation Council for Business Education and the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.

News Type

  • Alumni
  • University