Press Release

Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award Recipients Announced


Sherry Mercurio
Executive Director, Office of Community Relations

Columbus, OH (May 20, 2019)

Franklin University, one of the leading educators of working adults in central Ohio, celebrated its 161st Commencement on Friday, May 17. Along with honoring the graduates, Franklin recognized Robin Clark and Diane Alexander, from its faculty as recipients of the distinguished Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award.

Congratulations to this trimester’s recipients: Robin Clark, undergraduate faculty and Diane Alexander, graduate faculty.

Robin Clark
An adjunct professor in Franklin’s B.S. Human Resources program since 2006, Robin Clark is committed to his students through coaching, mentoring and modeling professional standards for both the classroom and the workplace. He works to create a positive, worthwhile and engaging learning experience in which students can succeed. Robin’s career spans 15 years in parish ministry and more than 25 years in corporate human resource management. He also served as a board member for Columbus Vision and Vocational Services. Robin has a bachelor’s degree in English from The Ohio State University and a Master of Divinity degree, as well as a master’s in Christian education from the Methodist Theological School in Ohio. In addition, he completed post-graduate work at Boston University School of Theology and holds several professional memberships

Diane Alexander
Diane Alexander is an adjunct faculty member in Franklin’s M.S. in Business Psychology program, a post she’s held since the program’s initial launch in 2013. Prior to joining the ranks of graduate faculty, Diane taught undergraduate psychology courses at Franklin. In her teaching assignments both domestically and internationally, Diane employs a teaching style that incorporates coaching, facilitation and encouragement. Her teaching is informed by diverse professional roles including a 30-year career as the vice president of human resources at Huntington National Bank. Diane also founded The MindWorks, Inc., an international organization dedicated to teaching people how to operate their minds more effectively, and served 30 years as the organization’s president. Diane earned a bachelor’s degree in education and a master’s in psychology from The Ohio State University, and an MBA from Xavier University.

About the Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award
Each trimester, two faculty members are honored with the Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award. Graduating students are asked to identify one undergraduate and one graduate faculty member who had the most significant influence on them throughout their educational experience at Franklin University. The award recognizes those who have challenged students intellectually and guided them in finding the significance of the course content as it relates to them both personally and professionally.

While more than 100 graduate and undergraduate faculty members are nominated each trimester – clearly showing the magnitude of interaction between students and faculty at Franklin University – the faculty members receiving the most nominations are awarded this honor.

These awards are funded through an endowment established by State Auto Insurance Companies in recognition of Robert L. Bailey, who served State Auto for 28 years in various positions, including President, CEO, and Chairman, until his retirement in 2000. Bailey is also a past Chair and a Trustee Emeritus of Franklin University’s Board of Trustees.

About Franklin University

Accredited, nonprofit and dedicated to educating adults since 1902, Franklin provides on-site course options at our Main Campus in downtown Columbus, Ohio, and is an innovator in providing personalized online education. The University offers applied in-demand undergraduate, master’s and doctorate programs that enable adult learners to achieve their educational and professional goals. The University also offers several academic programs internationally, including its top-ranked MBA, through agreements with partner institutions.

Franklin University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and holds specialized accreditations for specific academic programs through the International Accreditation Council for Business Education, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education and the Commission on Accreditation of Health Informatics and Information Management Education. Franklin is only one of three schools in Ohio designated as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense Education (CAE-CDE) by the National Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security. 

News Type

  • Academics
  • University