Press Release

Franklin University’s Dr. Chenelle Jones Named DARE Award Winner


Sherry Mercurio
Executive Director, Office of Community Relations

Columbus, OH (August 5, 2020)

Franklin University, one of the leading educators of working adults in central Ohio, is proud to announce that Dr. Chenelle Jones, assistant dean, Community Engagement, and chair, Public Safety programs has been awarded the University’s Deans Award Recognizing Excellence (DARE to be great).

The DARE award is an academic affairs award created to recognize and celebrate faculty who not only reflect the values of the University, but who are also advancing the University’s mission in a manner that is over and above the traditional expectations of the faculty member.

Faculty members are nominated by their supervising dean or vice president for their contributions to the college and/or University in one or more of five categories: commitment, collaboration, innovation, leadership, and/or learning.

Dr. Chenelle shared the following thoughts on winning this term’s DARE award, "The DARE Award is a tremendous honor! I am truly grateful for the nomination of the deans, the inspiration of my colleagues, and the unwavering support of the University to continue doing the academic and community work that I absolutely love doing!"

Dr. Jones was nominated by Dr. Jonathan McCombs, dean, College of Health and Public Administration, and executive director, Center for Public Safety and Cybersecurity Education, for her commitment to the University and its mission and strategic initiatives, and community engagement which include:
•    serving as the research director for Teen and Police Service Academy (TAPS);
•    coordinating a large community group called, Come Together Columbus to combat racial injustice, systemic change and additional important endeavors;
•    leading community advocacy events such as Youth Justice March, Black Excellence Ladies Edition March, Columbus Young Professionals Panel, and Franklin University Diversity Dimensions Lunch and Learn;
•    appointed by the Mayor to the Public Safety Advisory Committee, providing over 120+ recommendations on change needed in the Columbus Division of Police;
•    advancing the work of the Center for Public Safety and Cybersecurity Education and the Global Center for Healthcare Education, while developing advisory committees and partnership work; and
•    designed and taught many courses as the program chair of Public Safety programs.

Franklin University DARE award winners are designated “Franklin Faculty Fellow” for the quarter; receive a desk award and medallion to wear during Commencement ceremonies; have their name displayed in Frasch Hall; and receive a monetary award, part of which is earmarked for professional development activities such as conducting research, conference attendance, materials or equipment for use in the laboratory or classroom, educational opportunities (e.g., certifications, graduate work, etc.).

Congratulations to this term’s DARE award winner Dr. Chenelle Jones!

Visit Dr. Chenelle Jones’ Faculty Profile to learn more about her work:…

About Franklin University

Accredited, nonprofit and dedicated to educating adults since 1902, Franklin provides on-site course options at our Main Campus in downtown Columbus, Ohio, and is an innovator in providing personalized online education. The University offers applied in-demand undergraduate, master’s and doctorate programs that enable adult learners to achieve their educational and professional goals. The University also offers several academic programs internationally, including its top-ranked MBA, through agreements with partner institutions.

Franklin University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and holds specialized accreditations for specific academic programs through the International Accreditation Council for Business Education, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education and the Commission on Accreditation of Health Informatics and Information Management Education. Franklin is only one of three schools in Ohio designated as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense Education (CAE-CDE) by the National Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security. 

News Type

  • University