Press Release

Summer 2023 Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award Recipients Announced


Sherry Mercurio
Executive Director, Office of Community Relations
(614) 947-6581

Columbus, OH (September 1, 2023)

Franklin University, one of the leading educators of working adults in central Ohio, celebrates its 174th Commencement on Friday, Sept. 8 at 7 p.m. (EDT). Along with honoring the graduates, Franklin recognizes Roger Engle and Terry Porter from its faculty as recipients of the distinguished Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award.

Congratulations to this trimester’s recipients: Roger Engle, graduate adjunct faculty and, Terry Porter, undergraduate adjunct faculty.

Graduate Bailey Award Winner
A three-time winner of the Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award, Roger W. Engle Jr. has been teaching in Franklin University’s Computer Science Department since 2002. Roger combines his belief in lifelong learning, his professional experiences, his academic legitimization, and his sincere desire for every student to reach their dream to create an atmosphere for learning in the classroom.
Roger was recognized for his achievements many times throughout his career. He served in several roles, including director of corporate budgets at AT&T in Ohio, consulting as a business analyst and project manager, and senior manager and regional counseling lead for an international consulting company.
Engle engages in research which has been published by the National Park Service. A two-time graduate of Capital University, he is the author of two books and has been published in national periodicals. 

Undergraduate Bailey Award Winner
Terry Porter has been a member of Franklin’s adjunct faculty since 2012. His classes have included Principles of Sociology, Global Issues and Community Mental Health, as well as Issues in Social Science and Public Sociology, both of which he co-created. He considers himself both a teacher and a co-learner with his students, as he also learns a great deal from them. He encourages his students to see themselves as agents of change in their communities who have many gifts and talents they can use to build a more just and compassionate world.

Terry earned his bachelor’s degree from Franklin University and his master’s from Antioch University. He has worked with students from middle school through professional school for the past 22 years.
About the Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award
Each trimester, two faculty members are honored with the Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award. Graduating students are asked to identify one undergraduate and one graduate faculty member who had the most significant influence on them throughout their educational experience at Franklin University. The award recognizes those who have challenged students intellectually and guided them in finding the significance of the course content as it relates to them both personally and professionally.

While more than 100 graduate and undergraduate faculty members are nominated each trimester – clearly showing the magnitude of interaction between students and faculty at Franklin University – the faculty members receiving the most nominations are awarded this honor.

These awards are funded through an endowment established by State Auto Insurance Companies in recognition of Robert L. Bailey, who served State Auto for 28 years in various positions, including President, CEO, and Chairman, until his retirement in 2000. Bailey is also a past Chair and a Trustee Emeritus of Franklin University’s Board of Trustees.

About Franklin University

Accredited, nonprofit, and dedicated to educating adults since 1902, Franklin provides onsite course options at our Main Campus in downtown Columbus, Ohio, and is an innovator in providing personalized online education. The University offers applied in-demand undergraduate, masters, and doctorate programs that enable adult learners to achieve their educational and professional goals. Through agreements with partner institutions, the University also offers international academic programs, including its top-ranked MBA.

Franklin University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and holds specialized accreditations for specific academic programs through the International Accreditation Council for Business Education, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation, and the Commission on Accreditation of Health Informatics and Information Management Education. The National Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security have designated Franklin University as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense Education (CAE-CDE).

News Type

  • University