Press Releases

Franklin University and Southern State Community College Host Signing Event

For Immediate Release: December 13, 2012

Contact Sherry Mercurio, Director of Public Relations, 614.947.6581

Columbus, OH —

Franklin University and Southern State Community College (SSCC) hosted an event to officially mark the signing of the co-location agreement between the two institutions, offering Franklin classes at SSCC’s Fayette campus.

Through this agreement, the two institutions have created a pathway for students to complete their bachelor degrees by transferring their SSCC associate’s degree to Franklin.  Students can take Franklin classes in a face-to-face format at the SSCC Fayette campus in Franklin’s Criminal Justice Administration major.

“The signing of our co-location partnership with Southern State Community College allows students in Southern Ohio to benefit from an expanded physical and financial access to education,” said Bill Chan, Executive Director of Domestic Expansion and Regional Campuses. “By expanding the opportunities students have to complete a bachelor’s degree we provide access to the broadest possible community of learners to achieve their goals and enrich the world.”

Providing remarks during the celebration event were:

  • Jessica Wise, Campus Director, Fayette Campus, Southern State Community College
  • Dr. Kevin Boys, President, Southern State Community College
  • Dr. David R. Decker, President, Franklin University
  • Dale E. Lynch, Councilperson, City of Washington Court House

“I am just extremely delighted to be part of this ceremony today, particularly about the opportunity for people of our region to earn a bachelor’s degree without leaving Fayette County,” said Dr. Kevin Boys, President, Southern State Community College. “As you know, the mission of Southern State is to offer affordable, accessible, high quality education, and we view this new partnership with Franklin University as an extension of that mission.”

Through this new co-location agreement, students benefit from Franklin’s acceptance of previously earned college and professional education credits, minimizing the time and money it takes to earn a degree. This transfer-friendly policy, coupled with the University’s convenient class schedules and regionally accredited curriculum allow today’s adult students to achieve their education and career goals in balance with their personal, career, and financial responsibilities, all while staying within their own community.

About Southern State Community College
Chartered in 1975, Southern State Community College offers associate degree programs, certificate programs, bachelor’s degree completion through on-site partnership agreements, adult basic literacy courses and workforce training programs. With multiple campus locations, Southern State provides close-to-home convenience and a supportive community experience. Delivering on its mission to provide an affordable, accessible, high-quality education, Southern State offers flexible scheduling with day, evening, weekend, online and hybrid courses, and a tuition rate that is one of the lowest in the state. To learn more, please visit



About Franklin University
Founded in 1902, Franklin University is one of the leading and most experienced educators of adult students. The University offers applied, in-demand undergraduate, master's and doctorate programs that enable adult learners to achieve their educational and professional goals.  From entrepreneurs to CEOs, more than 45,000 Franklin alumni can be found around the world contributing to the communities in which they live and work. Students can take classes through Franklin through its Main Campus in downtown Columbus, Ohio, two central Ohio locations, in Beavercreek, at co-locations across Ohio, Indiana, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin, and online. In addition, the University's MBA program is offered internationally through agreements with institutions in Europe and the Middle East. Further information regarding Franklin University can be found at

Franklin University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC), the International Assembly for Collegiate Business Education (IACBE), and the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).


earn More