Skip to main content
Press Release

Dr. Kelly Renner Named Franklin University’s Inaugural DARE Award Winner


Sherry Mercurio
Executive Director, Office of Community Relations

Columbus, OH (February 1, 2019)

Franklin University, one of the leading educators of working adults in central Ohio, is proud to announce Dr. Kelly Renner, Program Chair, Applied Psychology & Social Sciences has been awarded the University’s inaugural Deans Award Recognizing Excellence (DARE to be great).  

New to Franklin, the DARE award is an academic affairs award created to recognize and celebrate faculty who not only reflect the values of the University, but who are also advancing the University’s mission in a manner that is over and above the traditional expectations of a faculty member.  

Faculty members are nominated by their supervising dean or vice president for their contributions to the college and/or University in one or more of five categories: commitment, collaboration, innovation, leadership, and/or learning.

A superb candidate for the inaugural DARE award, Dr. Renner was nominated by  Dr. Kody Kuehnl, Dean, College of Arts, Sciences, & Technology, for her commitment to the University and its mission, and numerous strategic initiatives, which include:

  • piloting and teaching in the College Credit Plus (CCP) blended format project with Tree of Life;
  • presenting at each doctoral colloquium and annual Leadership Development programs;
  • serving as a doctoral advisor and on a dissertation committee;
  • serving as Chair of the Curriculum Review Committee;
  • serving as faculty liaison/expert to the University’s Red Carpet Service initiative;
  • serving as a faculty representative for the Franklin Intervention and Awareness Team (FIAT);
  • serving on the Title III Grant Early Alert Software Team ;
  • serving on the Instructional Design Task Force;
  • creating a capstone experience that provides experiential learning opportunities;
  • serving as a faculty mentor to multiple faculty;
  • serving as a Columbus City Schools mentor; and
  • serving as a Youth Advocate Service Board Member.

Franklin University DARE award winners are designated “Franklin Faculty Fellow” for the quarter; receive a desk award and medallion to wear during Commencement ceremonies; have their name displayed in Frasch Hall; and receive a monetary award, part of which is earmarked for professional development activities such as conducting research, conference attendance, materials or equipment for use in the laboratory or classroom, educational opportunities (e.g., certifications, graduate work, etc.).

Congratulations to inaugural DARE award winner Dr. Kelly Renner!

About Franklin University

Accredited, nonprofit and dedicated to educating adults since 1902, Franklin provides onsite course options at over 25 Midwest locations and is an innovator in providing personalized online education. The University offers applied in-demand undergraduate, master’s and doctorate programs that enable adult learners to achieve their educational and professional goals. The University also offers several academic programs internationally, including its top-ranked MBA, through agreements with partner institutions.

Franklin University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and holds specialized accreditations for specific academic programs through the International Accreditation Council for Business Education and the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.

News Type

  • Academics
  • University